These are the first steps in PicDrop:
If you’ve already mastered these steps, continue on to “Advanced PicDrop“.
After the free registration, you will land in your empty gallery overview. Here you will later see all your galleries from A to Z, as you know it from your PC. On the right side, you will always find the last used or modified galleries. This gives you direct access to your current projects. Once you have created a few galleries, it will eventually look like this:
Create your first gallery
Click on “create new gallery”. Then you can decide the gallery name and confirm. You will end up directly in the gallery. You can change the name of the gallery at any time.
To upload pictures to your first gallery, it is sufficient to load them into the browser window with the gallery open and simply drag & drop. The upload will start automatically. Alternatively, you can also click on the green upload button and then select the images on your hard drive. Incidentally, the speed and duration of your upload are limited only by the upload speed of your Internet connection.
As an alternative to browser upload, you can also upload images directly from Lightroom or with an FTP program. You will find more information later in the section “Advanced PicDrop“.
Your uploaded pictures are ready
PicDrop automatically generates previews of your images during your upload. This makes your pictures look good on all devices – whether on a PC or Mac, tablet or smartphone.
All clients are different. Therefore, you can tailor each gallery to exactly what your client may see and do. So you keep the control over your pictures and your workflow, not your client. These “Gallery Settings” can be found in each gallery at the top right.
The Gallery Settings are divided into four sections:
- Appearance: Here you can specify how your pictures should be arranged and which information about the pictures your client is allowed to see. You can also leave a personal greeting here.
- Features: Here you can activate what your client is allowed to do in the gallery. Can they download your original pictures or just look at the previews? Can they create selections or color flag images? It pays to try everything here to understand the full scope of PicDrop.
- Security: The security of your pictures is important. Therefore, here you can protect the gallery with a password and watermarks. By the way, the secure link prevents an unauthorized third party from guessing the link to your photo project or even trying it out. If this function is active, your gallery is no longer accessible via the clear link. If you put a gallery on “private”, it will only be accessible to you.
- Presentation view: With the presentation view you can create even more beautiful galleries for your clients, which provides a few extra functions.
You will find detailed information about each individual setting in our FAQ.
If you have everything set, you can save the settings by clicking on “Apply Changes”. To make sure that your client gets exactly the settings you expect, you can click on “Client View” in the top right corner. You will then see the galleries exactly as your client will see them later. Don’t forget to switch back to the admin view.
Send your gallery
Send the gallery to your client by simply sending the link! You will always find this link in the upper right corner of every gallery under “Share”.
You can either send the link directly from PicDrop or copy the link of the gallery and send it by email, Whatsapp, Skype, Facebook, etc…
You’ve sent your first gallery! That was easy, right?
Of course, PicDrop can do much more. Many tips and tricks can be found in the section “Advanced PicDrop“. And if you have any questions, feel free to contact us at any time. We look forward to helping you!