Client Accounts (BETA)

How do I create a client login?

If you have decided to enable your customer’s access to PicDrop, you can allow this in your account settings within the customer access (BETA) section.

Enter the name and a clear, unambiguous access code that your customer can use to open the account later. Additionally, you can also leave an e-mail address and an internal note for yourself. The e-mail address is currently not used, but optional automatic notifications to your customers are planned for a later version, so it makes sense to store them now.

You have now created the customer account, but have not yet added a gallery to the account.

Please click on “Add/remove galleries” and select the galleries your customer is allowed to see after entering their password.

ATTENTION: Please also read our other customer access notes, which describe why they are in a BETA stage and do not necessarily make sense for all your customers. Click here for more information.

Are sub-galleries of an added gallery automatically included?

Currently, sub galleries are automatically included if this is set in the gallery settings of the added gallery. In the future, however, we will change this so that each gallery must be explicitly added to a client account, even if they are sub-galleries. This will make it easier to understand. As soon as there are changes here, we will of course inform you in time.

What is the difference between gallery passwords and client access?

This difference is very important.

The password of a gallery, set and activated in the gallery settings, is there to protect your gallery from possible unwanted visitors. If it is activated, your client must enter it when calling up the direct link to the respective gallery. Only then are the pictures of this one gallery are visible.

With a client account, however, your client can use a password to access an overview of all galleries that have been activated for them. You can create such access codes in your account settings. There you can also change the client access at any time or add or remove galleries to a client access. The advantage, your client does not need the latest, direct link to a new gallery every time, but logs in with his client access and automatically sees all new images available for him. It is planned that your client will be notified automatically when new galleries are available for him, but it is currently still necessary that you inform him directly.

At the moment we are unfortunately not yet very good at communicating the difference between these two ways directly in the tool. The reason for this is that the client access function is currently not yet final but rather in beta status. We improve it every week based on user feedback and only when we are one hundred percent satisfied with the result will we officially introduce this function.

What are permanent client logins and when do they make sense to use?

With a permanent client access, we offer you a second option to send pictures to your clients.

In contrast to the direct gallery address that you previously sent to your clients, you can create fixed, permanent logins for your clients here. You can now add new galleries to these logins or remove them at any time. Your client can enter his personal client access login at picdrop.de/your-user name/ in a large login field and then will see all galleries that you have released for their client access in a very personal gallery overview.

Client access is particularly useful if you work with a client over a longer period of time. This can be a single project or years of cooperation with a regular client. Furthermore, you can give access to a specific part of your PicDrop archive via the client accounts, which you do not want to make public but would like to show on request.

Why is my client able to navigate from the shared galleries to other galleries?

When galleries are sent directly to clients without a secure link, the “navigation from sub-galleries and vice versa” are available. The function in the settings of the original gallery controls whether their sub galleries are visible. If this function is activated, the client can view all sub-galleries from an original gallery and pull them up with a click. Of course, this also means that they have to be able to navigate up to the parent gallery again from a lower gallery. To put it simply: a staircase that you can walk down from the ground floor into the basement must also be able to walk up again. If you now want the client to be able to navigate from there, you must deactivate the function “Navigation in sub-galleries and vice versa” in the parent gallery. Thus no one in the parent gallery can see the sub-galleries – and vice versa.

Update: These settings are still effective and also if one e.g. only one single sub-gallery by client login is released and the client came directly into the sub-gallery. This point and a few less important points are the reason why client accesses are currently still “BETA”. In the future, we will change this function so that every single gallery has to be explicitly added to a client account, even if it is a sub-gallery. Also, the permission settings of top galleries will then be ignored at client access. This will make it easier to understand.